Bae Watch: To Snoop or Not To Snoop? That Is The Question

We’d like to think that no one enters a relationship believing that there is a possibility that their significant other would ever think of cheating on them. Make a fool out of them. Hurt them.

But it happens.

And sadly, as females, we’re tempted to take the necessary precautions to make sure that it doesn’t happen to us (Hey, even Bey looks over Jay’s shoulder when he’s texting, so don’t feel bad if you do too, boo!)

Untitled
http://askkissy.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/spl751206_002.jpg

To Snoop.

The first time I went through my boyfriend’s phone, I wasn’t necessarily “looking” for anything. It actually never crossed my mind. At the same time, I never wanted to feel like I was being disrespected in my own relationship. I always told myself that I would NEVER snoop through my boyfriend’s phone. But oh, was I wrong. I did it once. And then I did it again. And slowly, snooping became a habit. I lowkey enjoyed going through my boyfriend’s phone. Weird, right? Sometimes I would find stuff and sometimes I would find absolutely nothing. At the end of the day, was it really worth it?

http://i3.irishmirror.ie/incoming/article4983106.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/Beyonce-checking-on-Jay-Zs-phone-2012.jpg
http://i3.irishmirror.ie/incoming/article4983106.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/Beyonce-checking-on-Jay-Zs-phone-2012.jpg

Not To Snoop.

We understand that every relationship is different. Some couples have understandings. Some couples actually have set up days where they swap phones. Some couples just stick to the basic, “You give me your phone password, and I’ll give you mine” concept. What works for your relationship may not work for the next.

Before you make snooping a daily obsession, pretty girls, ask yourself a few of these questions:

Do you trust your significant other?

Now if you said, NO, you might want to reevaluate your relationship. Trust plays a major factor in a relationship and without trust Lord only knows what path your relationship is headed down. If you wholeheartedly trust your boyfriend, there is no reason for you to go through his phone.

How would you feel if your boyfriend went through your phone?

How would you feel if the roles were reversed? Would you feel some type of way because you’re hiding something too? Or would you feel a type of way because they did not trust you? Thinking of how you would react if your boyfriend was snooping through your phone, kind of puts it into perspective for you. Is it really worth it? Is snooping through your boyfriend’s phone really worth your relationship? Will your relationship be in a better position after this? Will snooping cost you your relationship?

http://i1.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article4982521.ece/ALTERNATES/s1227b/Jay-Z-and-his-wife-Beyonce-sit-courtside-during-the-Brooklyn-Nets-vs-the-Houston-Rockets-2015.jpg
http://i1.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article4982521.ece/ALTERNATES/s1227b/Jay-Z-and-his-wife-Beyonce-sit-courtside-during-the-Brooklyn-Nets-vs-the-Houston-Rockets-2015.jpg

Is It Really Worth It?

I was obsessed with going through my boyfriend’s phone, but what I really found out was that I was more obsessed with getting hurt. I hated what I read and just the thought of what he could possibly be doing behind my back, hurt me more. And, I continued to do it. But what was I gaining? Absolutely nothing, but a broken heart. Was snooping really worth my self-esteem? Nope. Snooping only made me jealous, obsessive, and hurt. Pretty girls, don’t go looking for things, you don’t want to find. No relationship, no guy… (honestly, NOTHING) is really worth the love you have for yourself. You should be in a relationship with someone you trust. Do not use snooping as your reason to validate your trust issues or in some cases, make them worse. Most importantly, keep your ears and eyes open — be on your bae watch!

xoxo,

Lydia Moore-Hill

— What do you think about snooping in a relationship? Do you do it? Comment below and tell us what you think!

Leave a comment